Raw Quinoa Superfood Dish

Aloha!

Sprouted Quinoa is a really yummy hearty addition to a raw foods diet. It’s high in protein, and not stored too long like wheat or rice, so there is less of a chance of mold contamination. I often make sprouted raw quinoa breads, too.

Today, I had a cacao shake all day, then got hungry for something more hearty and savory. In the kitchen I had some sprouted quinoa and other random stuff including some soaked brazil nuts.

So here’s how I made this new Raw Quinoa Superfood Dish ::

2 cups sprouted quinoa

(soak quinoa for overnight or at least like 4 hours. drain soak water and let sprout for several hours. rinse if sprouting longer than 3 hours. tails should grow pretty quick. it’s ready when tails sprout.)

I made a sauce from ::

Vitamineral Green Powder, about 1 tbs.

a piece of onion

handful fresh parsley and basil

about 1/2 cup soaked brazil nuts

1 carrot

himalayan crystal sea salt

dash of mustard

dash of raw honey

I blended those ingredients up, oh, I think I added a small peice of lemon. And added a little water, it was quite thick. I put it in the VitaMix. My friend has a new two-speeder, it worked really well, I like it, though I usually use a variable speed, this one was fine.

I just blended it up well and poured it over the sprouted quinoa. I topped it with some red onion chunks and avocado. It was very satisfying. Since I’ve been actually working on going back to my preferred 100% raw diet, I have been going for whatever will be satisfying to me to keep me 100% raw. While this is an unusual dish and possibly not for everyone, I really liked it.

Raw cheffery is fun. I like to make stuff up.

quinoauncooked

quinoa-cultivation

Quinoa, grain of the ancients! Beautiful, aye?

Much love!

Laura

laura-vc-log

About Laura Fox

Laura Fox, host of Visionary Culture Radio, produces events and media to assist in The Shift.
This entry was posted in raw vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raw Quinoa Superfood Dish

  1. Pingback: KeepingItRaw.com » Blog Archive » Raw Quinoa Superfood Dish

  2. melissakushi says:

    have you tried HimalaSalt, it’s kosher, eco-packed, ethically sourced, wind powered, and they give 5% of profits to the environment. They make it in their own organic facility in the Berkshire Mountains.

Leave a Reply

